A stationer's dream - All waxes ship free in the US
Skip to content
Your cart is currently empty.


The symbolism of a heart is deeply intertwined with the concept of love, representing the essence of affection, emotional connection, and the multitude of ways love can be experienced. The heart serves as a universal symbol of love, evoking profound emotions and carrying the weight of its symbolism across cultures and generations.

In ancient Greece, love was explored and classified into various forms, each with its unique qualities and manifestations. These eight concepts of love, originating from different philosophical and poetic sources, offer a comprehensive understanding of the diverse nature of affection and emotional connection.

Eros: Eros represents sexual passion and desire. It embodies the intense, romantic, and sensual aspects of love, characterized by physical attraction and longing. Eros symbolizes the fiery and passionate energy that ignites the heart and drives individuals towards deep connections.

Philia: Philia signifies deep friendship and camaraderie. It represents the bond between friends, emphasizing loyalty, mutual respect, and shared values. Philia is characterized by companionship, trust, and a sense of belonging within a close-knit circle of friends.

Ludus: Ludus represents playful and flirtatious love. It involves the excitement and enjoyment of playful interactions, teasing, and light-hearted affection. Ludus embodies the joy and spontaneity that can be experienced in the early stages of romantic relationships or during playful interactions among friends.

Agape: Agape signifies selfless and unconditional love. It represents a universal, compassionate love that extends to all beings. Agape emphasizes kindness, empathy, and an altruistic concern for the well-being of others, transcending personal relationships and connections.

Pragma: Pragma relates to longstanding love or enduring commitment. It emphasizes mutual understanding, shared values, and long-term dedication in relationships. Pragma symbolizes the love that evolves and deepens over time, founded on companionship, respect, and a willingness to nurture and sustain the relationship.

Philautia: Philautia represents love of the self. It encompasses a healthy sense of self-worth, self-acceptance, and self-care. Philautia emphasizes the importance of nurturing and valuing oneself, recognizing that self-love is essential for fostering genuine connections and the capacity to love others.

Storge: Storge refers to family love or affectionate attachment. It represents the natural, unconditional love and bond between family members, including parents and children, siblings, and extended family. Storge symbolizes the warmth, protection, and sense of belonging that emanate from familial relationships.

Mania: Mania represents obsessive love, characterized by intense emotional highs and lows. It embodies a possessive and consuming passion that can lead to a turbulent and often unbalanced relationship dynamic. Mania symbolizes the extremes of love, where the intensity of emotions can override reason and lead to obsessive thoughts and actions.

The symbolism of a heart encompasses these eight concepts of love, illustrating the vast spectrum of human emotions and connections. The heart represents the universal language of love, reflecting sexual passion, deep friendship, playful affection, selfless compassion, enduring commitment, self-love, familial attachment, and the tumultuous nature of obsession. It serves as a reminder to cherish and nurture the various forms of love that enrich our lives, fostering deeper connections and a greater understanding of the complexity of human relationships.

Sorry, there are no products in this collection

Continue shopping